“To see the world for a moment as something rich and strange is the private reward of many a discovery.” ~Edward M. Purcell

While Ikuni and I are waiting for midnight, we check out the Icelandic band, Sigur Rós, that Dooce raved about on Alpha Mom.

I had never before nor have I since seen a more incredible live show. Hundreds of people huddled in complete silence underneath the flapping roof of the tent, and hundreds more spilled out the sides. We rewarded each song with roaring applause, but once the next number began everyone shushed each other as if we were sitting in church and owed it to God to be reverent. Normally I would have laughed because there is nothing in life so sacred that you should reduce yourself to shushing a stranger. But I stood there and willingly shushed, enthusiastically shushed. I was as shushy as an 80-year-old virgin who won’t subscribe to cable because she might be confronted with a stray ni.pple…read the rest here.

We first watch the music video to Glosoli. Oh. My. God. (sorry, mom, but sometimes it’s my honest reaction) We are stunned. Riveted. Awed. Dooce has not exaggerated.

Next is Hoppípolla. Wow again. Not only is the music great but the video. Like Glosoli, it’s like a short film. And a really good one.

Last we watch Ný Batterí . The band is interviewed a bit and then they perform this amazing, haunting, chilling song. Absolutely wonderful.

2 thoughts on ““To see the world for a moment as something rich and strange is the private reward of many a discovery.” ~Edward M. Purcell

Add yours

  1. Hi there! First time I’ve checked out your blog, and this post caught my eye. I saw Sigur Ros last year in Seattle and thought they were amazing! I heard their sound referred to once as “a lush musical landscape”, and I really can’t think of a more apt description. Their music definitely has the ability to sweep you off your feet and carry you to another place entirely…

    Like

  2. Hey, there! Glad you commented. And glad to find another Sigur Ros appreciator. Would love to see them live one day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

